DIY Applique Muslin Burp Cloths poppysews.com

Applique Muslin Cloths

So I am even more sure I am expecting a baby boy in the autumn now..I was out the other day and a lady we got chatting to (didn’t actually know her…) asked if i was expecting a boy..and she went on to say that it looked like I was from “the lay of the land”..presumably my bump…

Yeah I know, what does she know? I don’t even believe that old wives tale about the bump out front means a boy or whatever…but it was a bit weird as she sounded so sure! So anyway, I will need some muslin cloths, and I am still feeling bored by the overly boyish things in the shops..and since I LOVE applique I decided i would applique some muslin cloths with a baby boy in mind, just in case 😉

This was my first version, i used a gorgeous bear applique from Freeapplique.com

(note: a great tutorial for applique is found at Molly and Mama)

DIY Applique Muslin Cloths poppysews.comDIY Applique Muslin Burp Cloths poppysews.comDIY Applique Muslin Burp Cloths poppysews.com

One thing I realised as I was sewing on the first bear applique was that the muslin material is too thin and the needle was pulling on it too much and so it needed some ‘backing up’.. so from then on I used applique backing fabric ironed on to the reverse side of the muslin cloth before zig-zag stitching the bear on to the fabric…

Here are the other two applique muslin cloth designs:

Would love any feedback as to which you think looks cutest (or suggested improvements!)…

DIY Applique Muslin Burp Cloths poppysews.comDIY Applique Muslin Burp Cloths poppysews.com

 

Leave a Reply

