Dress Refashion Part i – Girls Skirt

I found this dress in the charity shop..apart from the fact I’m not really a dress-wearer myself, this one was a good couple of sizes too big anyway… but I loved the fabric pattern and saw the potential for a project with two outcomes: A skirt for my little girl and another DIY maternity top for myself 🙂

image

First, for the skirt, this was the easier bit…

I simply cut the top part off the dress, leaving the waist band attached nicely to the skirt  and I measured it on “Poppy Jr” and used a safety pin to mark how much the waist needed taking in by, and measured the (new, shorter) length of skirt required (which i then cut to length, retaining the bottom part of the skirt for use in part ii of the project)….

image

I then sewed a new side seam, using my safety pin marking point and a pencil line…and zigzagged stitched the seam allowance and cut off the excess fabric…

image

I then sewed a hem onto the bottom of the skirt (by folding up twice and then stitching):

image

My little one tried it on, but it was very slightly too big on the waist and was falling too low, so needed some elastic in the waist…This was fairly easy : all I had to do was use my seam ripper to make two small slits at the back of the inside waist band..just before the side-seam, and insert some elastic (an inch or so shorter than the length between the two slits)…

image image

…and then I sewed the elastic  at each end (into each side seam)…all done! Poppy Jr was pretty happy with it too..only 4 years old but already she can’t have too many clothes 😉

image

image

I have just started to refashion the top half of the dress into a maternity top for myself…will keep you posted on how it goes! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

